頤康刊物

YHGen Brochure

頤康中心 - 多元文化護理的安樂窩

這本小冊子簡介頤康的理念和連貫式服務。點擊此處下載小冊子。

非英語人士在尋求醫療保健服務時,往往面臨各種挑戰。頤康中心有見及此,多年來出版了多款書籍和刋物,因應非英語人士的需要,幫助他們解決問題和困難。這些刊物内容均環繞老年有關的問題,適用於受影響人士、照顧他們的親友及醫護人員。

訂購或索取刊物

訂購或索取書刊,請聯絡頤康護老教育及支援服務:
地址:
Unit 17, 360B Hwy 7 East, Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3Y7, Canada

電話:905-597-9380
傳真:416-321-6313
電郵:caregiver.edu@yeehong.com

 Managing Sexuality and Intimacy Issues among Seniors

Managing Sexuality and Intimacy Issues among Seniors

語文:英文
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-6-6
出版年份:2014 年
價格:加幣 $30.00(連稅,運費和手續費另計)
點擊此處下載訂購表格

性與親密關係對這一代的長者而言仍視之為禁忌及難於啟齒,而這種觀念於華人及一些較為保守的亞洲社區尤為明顯。但性與親密關係卻又是人與生俱來的一部份,我們該如何帶著健康的心態去面對? 有見及此,頤康中心聯同多倫多大學社會工作學院曾家達教授作出了長達三年的專題研究,以曾家達教授的「知行易徑」為理論基礎,並將實務技巧及個案處理手法輯錄成書,以供學者及專業護理同工閱覽。

Chinese-English Communication Handbook for Health Care

華人保健常用英語手冊
2013 年增訂本

語文:中英對照
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-4-2 (英文及繁體中文)
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-5-9 (英文及简体中文)
出版年份:2013 年
價格:加幣 $15.00(連稅,運費和手續費另計)

《華人保健常用英語手冊》提供中英對照的常用醫療保健術語;按一般診治程序,列舉病人與醫護人員溝通的實用語句及詞彙,適合不同的臨床場合使用,有助於病人與醫護人員互相溝通,並且提供基本健康資訊。

自 1998 年初版發行以來,這本手冊備受病人和醫護人員歡迎。2013 年出版的增訂本備有繁體和簡體中文版。除加強內容外,還重新設計編排,使之更容易使用;另增添多項參考資料。附錄包括緊急事故個人資料表格、醫療專科人員及醫院部門名稱,以及大多倫多地區政府及社區的醫療保健資源,更為實用。

The Changing Needs of Chinese Seniors in the Greater Toronto Area

The Changing Needs of Chinese Seniors in the Greater Toronto Area

語文:英文(附繁體中文及簡體中文摘要)
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-3-5
出版年份:2013 年
價格:免費
下載

頤康中心與多倫多大學 Factor-Inwentash 社會工作學院合作,獲安省延齡草基金資助進行此項研究。目的是辨析在大多倫多地區生活的華人長者轉變中的需要(特別在多倫多、萬錦、烈治文山和密西沙加)。我們採用混合調查方法,向 655 位長者及服務提供者、關顧者,以及頤康中心其他資料提供者蒐集數據。

本研究記錄華人長者的普遍需要(尋求身體護理、心理健康、心靈需要以及人生最後階段的幫助),特別注重 (1) 環境的轉變,例如人口結構和社會環境;(2) 人生階段的重大變遷,例如移民、退休或長期病患發病;以及 (3) 由於服務使用者與服務系統的互動而浮現的需要。研究結果也涵蓋中年人和關顧者的特別需要、關顧者的性別角色,以及講普通話 (又稱國語) 的中、老年人的獨特需要。敏感的議題,例如虐老、性,以及對死亡和臨終的態度,也是本研究探討的範圍。研究報告也提出影響未來服務計劃和發展的建議。

Mapping Ourselves: Current Services and Resources for Chinese Caregivers & Caregiver Barriers and Needs

華人關顧者現有服務及需要研究

語文:英文及中文
出版年份:2013 年
價格:免費
瀏覽報告

在2012年,華人關顧者網絡通過訪問和關顧者焦點小組,向參與機構和關顧者蒐集意見,以便對現有服務作出評估。這份報告綜覽華人關顧者網絡的成員機構現有的關顧者服務,並且凸顯關顧者的需要和能力。

My Caregiving Companion

照護路上伴您行

語文:中文
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-1-1
出版年份:2012 年
價格:加幣 $5.00(連稅,運費和手續費另計)
點擊此處

這本小書為家庭關顧者提供有關的知識和資源,幫助他們更有效地照護親人。書中第一部分為關顧者提供自我照顧提示,包括時間和壓力管理。第二部分提供實用提示,包括如何與醫護人員合作、家居安全,以及政府和社區在家居護理、暫顧服務、長期護理、交通接送和經濟援助方面的資源。本書附錄列出更多資源,並附有 16 個月曆及筆記部分。

《照護路上伴您行》印備英文及繁體中文版本。下載簡體中文版(不附月曆),請點擊此處

Vibrant Lives - Happiness in Middle Age and Old Age

生之躍動 – 快活中、老年

語文:中文
國際標準書號: 978-0-9869088-0-4
出版年份:2011 年
價格:加幣 $15.00(連稅,運費和手續費另計)

這本書結集了 90 篇由頤康社會服務人員撰寫,曾在報章上刊登的文章;内容鼓勵中、老年人過活躍的生活,培養身、心及情緒各方面的健康;並且為關顧者提供大量實用錦囊,包括社區資源以及他們如何好好地照顧自己。書中部分内容更專為照顧失智長者的家庭而設。

Busting the Myths About Dementia

至親智「昏」知得真(DVD)

語言:粵語(英文字幕)
出版年份:2010 年
價格:免費

這個視頻光碟提供有關失智症的基本資料。由多位專業人士解答一般人對這個病症的誤解,講解病症的成因及症狀,並且為患者及照顧者提供有關的社區資源。由安省延齡草基金資助。

Understanding Chinese Cultures - A Handbook for Health Care and Rehabilitation Professionals

Understanding Chinese Cultures – A Handbook for Health Care and Rehabilitation Professionals

語文:英文
國際標準書號:0-9683835-0-5
出版年份:1998 年
價格:免費
瀏覽手冊内容

本手冊扼要地簡介中華文化,並以實例闡述華人對健康、疾病和殘障的態度和行為如何受到深層文化元素影響,可能導致診斷、治療和復康複雜化。醫護人員了解病人的文化背景後,可以從更廣闊的文化角度作出臨床評估,並且更有效地擬定治療和病情管理方案。

本書共分三部份:中華文化綱要、文化對醫療保健之影響,以及如何在醫療保健層面配合文化。

“…這本書寫得流暢,簡明扼要,易於閱讀,為醫護人員提供了實用的概覽和參考。它擴闊了讀者的視野,幫助他們了解病人的行為如何受文化影響。與此同時,讀者亦可趁此機會考驗自己對其他文化的了解。”
— 加拿大職業治療期刊,2000年10月號

SeniorGarten - Collector's Edition

頤園 — 珍藏版

語文:中文
國際標準書號: 0-9683835-3–x
出版年份:2001 年
價格:加幣 $10.00(連稅,運費和手續費另計)

本書收集了約 80 篇文章,作者包括專業人士、專科醫生、長者、長者家人,以及頤康的義工和職員。

本書按文章内容分六個章節排列:

  • 老亦樂
  • 雨中彩虹(常見長者疾病之理解和應對)
  • 逆境中的祝福
  • 鶼鰈情深
  • 烏托邦的夢
  • 今生無悔

本書理性與感性並重,使讀者對書中涵蓋的問題獲得深刻的啓發。

Palliative Care — Dedicated to the Caregivers

頤養篇 — 送給親愛的家屬

語文:中文
國際標準書號:未有註冊
出版年份:1998 年
價格:免費
瀏覽内容

這本書獻給末期病人的關顧者,內有多方面的實用資訊,對正在照顧垂危親友的人士極為適用。不論是照顧病人或關顧者本身如何保重,都提供極有用的參考。書中亦涉及病人離世後親友如何安懷及處理情緒,另有社區資源一覽表,以及葬禮待辦事項備忘錄等。

本書內容分爲五個章節:

  • 垂危人士權利
  • 對末期病患者的照顧
  • 末期病患者家屬的自我照顧
  • 社區資源一覽表
  • 心聲
Care for People with Alzheimer's Disease

照顧老年痴呆症患者手冊

語文:中文
國際標準書號:未有註冊
出版年份:2000 年
價格:免費
瀏覽内容

不少長者都受老年痴呆症困擾,本書目的是幫助受影響的家屬認識這個病症的性質,並提供有關的支援。除提出如何支持患者的建議外,亦針對關顧者本身因照顧病人而積聚的壓力提出應對方法。

New Life after Stroke

中風後的新生活

語文:中文
國際標準書號:未有註冊
出版年份:1999 年
價格:免費
瀏覽内容

本書回應不少有關中風的問題,包括受影響家庭在行為及情緒上所面臨的困難;在如何支援病人及處理困局方面提供實用的建議。

Care for People with Parkinson's Disease

照顧柏金遜症患者手冊

語文:中文
國際標準書號:未有註冊
出版年份:2004 年
價格:免費
瀏覽内容

不少長者都受柏金遜症困擾,本手冊從藥物、飲食、運動、康樂活動、起居安全各方面提出建議,幫助患者控制病情。書中亦涉及如何與患者溝通和關注其情緒,以及關顧者本身如何處理因照顧病者而積聚的壓力

Elder Care vs. Elder Abuse

護老與虐老

語文:中文
國際標準書號:未有註冊
出版年份:2005年
價格:免費
瀏覽内容

本手冊列舉虐老的類別,包括身體、性、精神、疏忽 / 遺棄、經濟以及院舍內的虐待。它探討虐老的成因,包括因額外的承擔感到吃力、付出不獲表揚、生活方式轉變、壓力積聚以及缺乏支援等;並為關顧者提出不同方法以避免墮入虐待行為的危機。手冊附錄之社區資源亦可以幫助關顧者在需要時尋求支援。

Publications

YHGen Brochure

Yee Hong Centre - Home of Culturally Appropriate Care

This brochure introduces Yee Hong’s philosophy and continuum of services. Click here to download the pamphlet.

Due to the challenges faced by non-English speaking individuals when seeking health care, Yee Hong has, over the years, published books and other resources catering to their specific needs. These publications address the issues and difficulties associated with aging to individuals, caregivers and health professionals. They include:

Ordering Information

To order our books and pamphlets, please contact the Yee Hong Caregiver Education and Support Services:

Unit 17, 360B Hwy 7 East, Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3Y7, Canada
Tel: 905-597-9380
Fax: 416-321-6313
Email: caregiver.edu@yeehong.com

 Managing Sexuality and Intimacy Issues among Seniors

Managing Sexuality and Intimacy Issues among Seniors

Language: English
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-6-6
Year of publication: 2014
Price: CAD $30.00 (Taxes included, shipping and handling extra)
Download order form

Sexuality and intimacy is often viewed as a topic of taboo among seniors. Recognizing that it is a part of life at all stages, the Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care has partnered with Professor A. Ka Tat Tsang of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto to develop an appropriate intervention. After three years of research and development, we have created a proactive procedure and a practical handbook which we believe is first of its kind.

Based on the SSLD (Strategies and Skills Learning and Development) System, this book provides practical skills and case studies in managing sexuality and intimacy issues among seniors. A must-read for all health professionals!

Chinese-English Communication Handbook for Health Care

Chinese-English Communication Handbook for Health Care

Revised and Expanded Edition, 2013

Language: Bilingual in English and Chinese
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-4-2 (English and Traditional Chinese)
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-5-9 (English and Simplified Chinese) Year of publication: 2013
Price: CAD $15.00 (Taxes included, shipping and handling extra)

The Communication Handbook for Health Care provides Chinese-English translations of commonly used terms in health care. Based on normal clinical procedures, it includes useful conversational phrases between the clinician and the patient, glossaries for different clinical settings as well as basic health information. The bilingual handbook can be used as a communication tool between English-speaking health care professionals and Chinese-speaking patients.

Since its first edition in 1998, this handbook has been well received by both patients and health care providers. The new Revised and Expanded Edition is available in traditional and simplified Chinese. The updated appendices include an In Case of Emergency Information Sheet, bilingual glossaries of health care specialists and hospital departments, and useful government and community resources in the Greater Toronto Area.

The Changing Needs of Chinese Seniors in the Greater Toronto Area

The Changing Needs of Chinese Seniors in the Greater Toronto Area

Language: English
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-3-5
Year of publication: 2013
Price: FREE
Download

Funded by the Ontario Trillium Foundation and in partnership with the University of Toronto Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, this research study aims to identify the changing needs of Chinese seniors who live in the Greater Toronto Area (specifically Toronto, Markham, Richmond Hill, and Mississauga). Using a mixed methods approach, data was collected from 655 seniors and service providers, caregivers, and other informants at the Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care.

The study documents the common needs amongst Chinese seniors (seeking help with physical care, mental health issues, spiritual needs and the final stage of life), giving special attention to (1) Changes in circumstances such as demographics and social environment, (2) Major transitions in life such as immigration, retirement, or onset of chronic conditions (3) Needs emerging as a result of the interaction between service users and the service system. The findings also cover the special needs of middle-aged adults and caregivers, the role of gender amongst caregivers, as well as the unique needs of Mandarin-speaking seniors and middle-aged adults. Sensitive issues such as elder abuse, sexuality, and attitudes towards death and dying have also been explored. Recommendations are provided to inform future service planning and program development.

Mapping Ourselves: Current Services and Resources for Chinese Caregivers & Caregiver Barriers and Needs

Mapping Ourselves: Current Services and Resources for Chinese Caregivers & Caregiver Barriers and Needs

Language: English & Chinese
Year of publication: 2013
Price: FREE
Download

In 2012, the Chinese Caregiver Network obtained input from the participating agencies as well as caregivers through agency interviews and caregiver focus groups to assess current services. This report provides a general overview of the existing caregiver services available through the member agencies of the Chinese Caregiver Network, as well as highlighting caregiver needs and capacities.

My Caregiving Companion

My Caregiving Companion

Language: English
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-2-8
Year of publication: 2012
Price: CAD $5.00 (Taxes included, shipping and handling extra)
Download Simplified Chinese version

This booklet aims to equip family caregivers with the relevant knowledge and resources needed in caring for loved ones. Section I of the booklet provides self-care tips for the caregiver, including time and stress management. Section II provides practical tips such as how to work with medical professionals, home safety, as well as government and community resources for in-home care, respite, long-term care, transportation and financial support. More resources are listed in the Appendix, together with 16 monthly calendars and blank notes.

My Caregiving Companion was published in separate English and Traditional Chinese versions. A Simplified Chinese version without calendars can be downloaded here.

Vibrant Lives - Happiness in Middle Age and Old Age

Vibrant Lives – Happiness in Middle Age and Old Age

Language: Chinese
ISBN: 978-0-9869088-0-4
Year of publication: 2011
Price: CAD $15.00 (Taxes included, shipping and handling extra)

This book is a compilation of 90 newspaper articles authored by social service professionals at Yee Hong to promote active living and psychosocial wellness for seniors. The articles also offer practical tips and connections to support networks for the well being of family caregivers.

Busting the Myths About Dementia

Busting the Myths About Dementia

Language: Cantonese with English subtitles
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 2010
Price: FREE

Sponsored by the Ontario Trillium Foundation, this DVD is a one-stop shop for commentary from an interdisciplinary team to outline the symptoms of Dementia for caregiving families to watch out for. Tips on providing care for the Dementia-affected population are also provided.

Understanding Chinese Cultures - A Handbook for Health Care and Rehabilitation Professionals

Understanding Chinese Cultures – A Handbook for Health Care and Rehabilitation Professionals

Language: English
ISBN: 0-9683835-0-5
Year of publication: 1998
Price: FREE
Download

This Handbook provides an overview and examples of the major cultural elements affecting behaviors and attitudes of Chinese people toward health, illness and disability, which in turn may complicate diagnosis, treatment and recovery.

The information can help health care providers assess clinical situations with a broader cultural perspective and equip them with strategies for culturally appropriate interventions and management.

The book consists of three parts: Framework of Chinese Cultures, Implications for Health Care and Culture at Work.

“…This book is well-written, concise and easy to read, providing a practical overview for health care professionals. It serves as a good reference and resource to assist in expanding the understanding of the impact of culture on the behaviour of our clients/patients. It also provides readers with the opportunity to challenge their understanding of other cultures.”
– Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy, October 2000

SeniorGarten - Collector's Edition

SeniorGarten – Collector’s Edition

Language: Chinese
ISBN: 0-9683835-3-X
Year of publication: 2001
Price: CAD $10.00 (Taxes included, shipping and handling extra)

The book covers a wide variety of articles under six sections:

  • Aging in Happiness
  • Rainbow in the Mist
  • (Understanding common senior illnesses and coping with them)
  • Greetings in Difficult Times
  • Endless Love
  • Utopia
  • A Life Well Lived

When an issue is touched upon, the book always presents both the rational and emotional aspects of an issue, enabling readers to gain deeper insights.

Palliative Care — Dedicated to the Caregivers

Palliative Care – Dedicated to the Caregivers

Language: Chinese
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 1998
Price: FREE
Download

The book was dedicated to caregivers that are caring for patients with terminal illness. It is a very helpful resource for people who are taking care of a dying family member or friend. It touches on the caring of both the patient and the caregivers themselves, as well as coping with bereavement after death. It also includes community resources and a to-do list for arranging a funeral.

The chapters of the book are as follows:

  • The Dying Person’s Bill of Rights
  • Caring for the Dying Person
  • Self-Care for Caregivers
  • Community Resources
  • Inspirational Stories
Care for People with Alzheimer's Disease

Care for People with Alzheimer’s Disease

Language: Chinese
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 2000
Price: FREE
Download

This brochure aims at helping families of Alzheimer patients understand the nature of this illness which affects many seniors. It provides helpful suggestions on supporting the patients and helping the caregivers to cope with their stress resulting from handling the patients.

New Life after Stroke

New Life after Stroke

Language: Chinese
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 1999
Price: FREE
Download

This book answers some of the frequently asked questions about stroke, and addresses the behavioural and emotional disruptions that are common in families affected by stroke. It also provides helpful suggestions on how to support the patient and handle difficult situations.

Care for People with Parkinson's Disease

Care for People with Parkinson’s Disease

Language: Chinese
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 2004
Price: FREE
Download

Parkinson’s disease is a chronic disease that affects many seniors. This pamphlet lists suggestions on helping the patient manage the disease in medication, diet, physical exercise, recreational activities and safety in daily routines. It also touches on communicating with the patient and tending to their emotional well being, as well as coping with stress arising from caring for the patient.

Elder Care vs. Elder Abuse

Elder Care vs. Elder Abuse

Language: Chinese
ISBN: N/A
Year of publication: 2005
Price: FREE
Download

The pamphlet defines different types of elder abuse, such as physical, sexual, emotional, negligent, economic and abuse in institutions. It explores how extra undertaking, contribution not being recognized, changes in lifestyle, built-up stress, and lack of support can give rise to abusive behaviour, and how caregivers can avoid falling into the trap. The community resources further help caregivers seek the support they need.

Play Intervention for Dementia Caregivers’ & Volunteers’ Practice Workbook Built on the foundation of SSLD

Play Intervention for Dementia Caregivers’ & Volunteers’ Practice Workbook Built on the foundation of SSLD

Year of publication: 2015
Price: FREE
Download

Funded by the Ontario Trillium Foundation and in partnership with the University of Toronto Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, this practice workbook provides caregivers and volunteers a knowledge framework and practical approach to understanding the use of Play Intervention for Dementia concepts.