关于我们

颐康是一所非牟利长者护理机构,自1994年 起,为华裔及其他族裔长者提供高质素及切合文化需要的服务,颐康营运805张长期护理床位, 并透过广泛的社会支援服务,每年在大多伦多地 区服务超过15,000人。

Yee Hong Centre Scarborough Finch
Yee Hong Ho Lai Oi Wan Centre (Markham)
Yee Hong Centre Scarborough McNicoll
Yee Hong Centre Mississauga

颐康向种族主义说不

多伦多及周边地区发生的针对社区之暴力行为,实在令人心痛,这也让我们看到加拿大仍然存在系统性的种族主义。虽然这现象已长期存在,亚洲移民早在加拿大立国之前,就饱受了污蔑和歧视,但反亚裔事件却因疫情而激增。无论我们是在加拿大土生,还是从其它国家移民过来的亚裔,我们经常都会面临种族歧视。

颐康和我们的盟友一起呼吁,反对任何针对个人及社区的仇恨,无论是在种族、性别认同和社会经济地位方面的歧视,都不予容忍。在颐康,我们深知每个人都扮演着不同的角色。我们会自我教育,更好地理解系统性种族主义对亚裔和其它族裔群体(包括土著、黑人和伊斯兰教社区等)的影响。我们必须从历史中的殖民主义之复杂过程中,吸取教训,了解到种族主义对我们以及后代的祸害。

现在是时候要揭穿种族主义的丑恶面目,这种歧视现象深深地伤害我们每个人,同时也削弱加拿大的凝聚力。反对种族主义不能仅停留在口头上,我们需要群策群力采取行动,通过制定政策和行动实践去遏止迫害。

颐康一直抱有反对仇恨迫害的信条。三十四年来,颐康致力于提供切合文化需要的长期护理,为社区长者、关顾者和家人提供连贯性的优质服务,令他们活出丰盛人生。我们希望每一位加拿大人都能与我们一起前进。

愿景

成为切合文化需要的长者服务典范。

使命

使华裔和其他族裔长者都能过着最健康、独立和有尊严的生活。我们提供连贯性、优质和切合文化需要的服务。

价值观

敬、爱、承、优、团、正、信,是颐康的核心信念,引导我们的发展过程及决策。

Values敬: 我们重视每个人是独特的个体,并且尊重他/她的背景、信念和选择。

爱: 我们培养一个关爱和支持的环境,接受人们的本质。

承: 我们鼓励颐康社群对我们的角色和机构的愿景、使命和价值观竭诚投身。

优: 我们推广服务使用者为本的护理、优质的服务和高质素的职场生活。

团: 我们在职员、义工和服务使用者之间鼓励合作、协作和互相信任。

正: 我们采取合乎道德的方式做一切事。

信:我们为托付我们的资源承担责任。

我们的故事

颐康中心的前身是大多市华人护理安老院,由小一步步发展至现时规模。创办人王裕佳医生目睹华裔长者在主流医疗设施内文化差异及言语不通的情况,从而矢志帮助这些长者。在1987年,王医生与30多位志同道合的加国华裔友人,着手筹建一所护理安老院,让父母和祖父母辈的长者能够得到适当的护理。

Our Story

在1990年,龙宴开始成为主要筹款活动。这项大型筹款活动得到许多义工、善长及政治家支持,包括加拿大总理。颐康中心于1994年正式启用。之后,颐康士嘉堡麦沥高中心扩展至155张床位。再不久,安省卫生厅给颐康增拨了 715 张床位,这是安省历史上给予非牟利机构最大的配给。而颐康中心兴建新院筹款运动成功筹集资金,建设了颐康万锦何黎霭云中心 (2002年:200张床位)、密西沙加中心(2003年:200张床位)及颐康士嘉堡芬治中心(2004年:250张床位)。

Ribbons
McNicoll Garden
现在,颐康中心是加拿大最大的非牟利安老院,设有提供全面护理服务的社区及家居支援服务,如颐康胡陈金枝松柏新邨等。

长者居屋新选择

颐康于2020年3月成立了一家新机构,专注于开发长者公寓。

颐康中心及颐康基金会共同成立了一家新机构 — 颐康松龄雅苑,专注于开发、建造及运营满足文化需求的长者公寓。颐康计划于密西沙加中心旁建造一幢18层的长者大厦,并已向密市市议会提交建筑方案。其在士嘉堡及万锦市的老年公寓项目也正在规划中。

https://www.yhsl.ca/

About Us

Yee Hong is a not-for-profit senior care organization, delivering high-quality, culturally appropriate services to Chinese and other ethnic seniors since 1994. Operating 805 long-term care home beds and a wide range of community support services, Yee Hong annually serves over 15,000 individuals across the Greater Toronto Area.

Yee Hong Centre Scarborough Finch
Yee Hong Ho Lai Oi Wan Centre (Markham)
Yee Hong Centre Scarborough McNicoll
Yee Hong Centre Mississauga

Yee Hong Is Speaking Up and Acting to End Racism

Acts of violence against our communities in the Toronto area and elsewhere are a painful reminder that systemic racism persists in Canada. Anti-Asian racism isn’t new; although Anti-Asian racism has been brought to the forefront during this pandemic, Asians have long experienced and witnessed stigma and discrimination even before Canada became a nation. Whether we were born in or immigrated to Canada from another country, Asians regularly face racism and oppression today.

Yee Hong and our allies are speaking out and taking action to end all forms of systemic oppression against individuals and communities regardless of our ethnicity, gender identity and socio-economic status. At Yee Hong we know that each of us has a role to play. We will educate ourselves to better understand the impact of systemic racism on Asians and other ethnic groups including but not limited to Indigenous, Black, and Islamic communities. We will explore the complex legacy of colonialism in our shared history and what it means for us today and generations to come.

It’s time for us to raise our voices and talk about what racism looks like, how it wounds us deeply, and how it weakens Canadian society. Moving forward requires constructive collective action that includes not only awareness and commitment but also specific policies and practices to prevent oppression in the first place.

Yee Hong was founded on anti-oppression values and principles. Thirty-four years later, Yee Hong continues its advocacy, system capacity-building and care delivery roles with our full continuum of culturally appropriate long-term services and care to empower seniors, caregivers and families to live their lives to the fullest. We invite every Canadian to join us on this ongoing journey.

Vision

To be the model of excellence in culturally appropriate seniors’ care.

Mission

To enable Chinese Canadian and other seniors to live their lives to the fullest, healthy, independent and dignified, through our continuum of excellent, culturally appropriate care.

Values

Yee Hong’s values are Respect, Compassion, Commitment, Excellence, Teamwork, Integrity and Accountability. These values represent our founding beliefs that guide our decision- making and processes.

ValuesRespect: We value each person as a unique individual and respect his or her background, beliefs and choices.

Compassion: We foster a caring and supportive environment that accepts people as they are.

Commitment: We promote dedication in our roles and dedication to the organization’s vision, mission and values.

Excellence: We promote client centered care, excellence in service delivery, and quality of work life.

Teamwork: We foster cooperation, collaboration and mutual trust among staff, volunteers and clients.

Integrity: We adopt an ethical approach in everything we do.

Accountability: We accept responsibility for the resources entrusted to us.

Our Story

The Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care (formerly the Chinese Community Nursing Home for Greater Toronto), started from humble roots. Our founder Dr. Joseph Wong witnessed how Chinese seniors were experiencing language and cultural barriers in Toronto facilities, and was moved to take action. In 1987, he with a group of 30 Chinese Canadian friends began fundraising to build a nursing home to care for parents and grandparents.

Our Story

From 1990, the Dragon Ball grew to its main fundraising event. This premier black-tie Chinese fundraiser attracts volunteers, donors, and politicians, including the Prime Minister of Canada.

The Yee Hong Centre was officially opened in October 1994. Yee Hong Centre Scarborough McNicoll K.C. Poon was expanded to 155 beds. Shortly thereafter, the Ministry of Health awarded a total of 715 beds, the largest such allocation to a non-profit organization in the history of Ontario. The Yee Hong Centre Capital Campaign raised funds to build centres in Markham Ho Lai Oi Wan (2002: 200 beds), Mississauga (2003: 200 beds), and Scarborough Finch To Heung Chan (2004; 250 beds).

Ribbons
McNicoll Garden
To date, Yee Hong Centre remains the largest non-profit nursing home in the country and includes a full continuum of care community and supportive housing services including Aw Chan Kam Chee Evergreen Manor.

New housing options for seniors

In March 2020 Yee Hong launched a new subsidiary to develop independent living communities for seniors.

Yee Hong Seniors Living Inc. is jointly owned by two Yee Hong charities, Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care and Yee Hong Community Wellness Foundation. The new organization will focus on developing, building and operating culturally-appropriate seniors living communities. An 18-story building next to Yee Hong’s Mississauga long-term care home has been proposed to Mississauga City Council for approval, and other projects in Scarborough and Markham are being considered.

Come take a look! https://www.yhsl.ca